Removing a fireplace, a question or two.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Again, thanks chaps.
I like the look of yours Marineboy. I 'm hoping that I can get a clean enough finish to get away without reinstating a surround but I've done enough work on old houses , mine and in the past other peoples to have a fairly calm vision of all the different scenarios removing mine might reveal! On the right hand wall, pic below, it looks to my untrained eye that there was once a wall (no extended living rooms when this house was built), then no wall and corresponding lintel, then another wall and a door, then no door. As a young fella I worked as a semi skilled labourer, no training but bright enough to follow the decent trades around, to get off the mixer and tag along stealing various skills with none of the expertise of the old hands. As a diyer, I'm skilled enough to do most jobs but know enough to know what not to do. Mostly. :D
Thanks again Eric, forewarned is forearmed. I'll look into the poly spray. Is it different from the stain barrier type paints? If so I might paint on a good few goats of thick pva, use the poly spray, get it rendered and skimmed then use a spay on stain/damp barrier paint as well before starting to paint.
Sorry to be a pest. :oops:
Just got back from a day or two in Arundel with some friends and a port hangover and dragged the sds out the shed ready for the morning, and a WHOLE lot more dustsheets and polythene sheeting.... :| Up and at 'em!

SevHecj.jpg

(edit: the stairs run up the other side of the wall, there's a toilet, with it's own door in the back room under them now. I guess this toilet was just storage at one point with access from the front room.)

lurker":cyxegfcx said:
A wood burner will set you back a good 2 grand with fitting (now mandatory) by a registered fitter.
Are you sure? Registered as what, and where?