Grinder recommendations - complete novice needs advice!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stewart

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all
I'm hoping to pick up a lathe from my uncle soon and have turned my mind to sharpening. At the moment I use waterstones for my hand planes and chisels - is it a good idea to have a grinder to sharpen lathe chisels on for speed - I understand that they need more sharpening than hand chisels?
If so, can anyone point me to a grinder that will do from Axminster and whether I need to buy different grinding wheels. I'm not going to stretch to a Tormek but there seems to be a very confusing choice of cheaper grinders in the Perform range. I'm going to Yandles on Friday and will probably go to Axminster as well so would like to buy one then.
Many thanks!

If you are on a tight budget then remember the quality of the stones is more important than the motor.

Here and Hereare a couple of threads involving about the cheapest option:

No doubt if you meet up with other members at yandles they may be able to steer you as well, just watch your wallet.

Hi Stewart
stay away from the Perform wet n dry jobbie
http://www.axminster.co.uk/product.asp?pf_id=21739&name=perform+grinder&user_search=1&sfile=1&jump=0
I bought one of these and returned it cos a) its water tray was broken & b) there was a huge amount of wobble on the wheel. APTC replaced it with another which had the same huge amount of wobble on the wheels. Far too much wobble to happily correct by dressing the wheel I felt so the second one went back. Axminsters reply to my query re how much "wobble" is acceptable was that this model is for hobbyists and an almost audible shrug of the shoulders. I may just have been unlucky but then I salavaged an old hilka 6 inch from a relative and despite being old and cheap it runs vibration and wobble free.
Cheers Mike

Hi Stewart,