Sharpening

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rufus

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I'm sure I'm going to open a Pandora's box, but I'm new to turning. Just did a course with Yandles and used the Sorby Pro Edge extensively - very enjoyable and I just realised the value of always have a sharp tool.

Right now, I'm not sure I can justify the £450 although I am of the view of buy quality and you won't have to replace it in the future.

I've looked at the Sorby bench grinder jig, but that's about £150 plus the cost of grinding wheels is going to take me to close on £200 so wondered about one of these: Gouge Chisel Sharpening Jig for Wood Lathe Woodturning chisels for Bench Grinder : Amazon.co.uk: Business, Industry & Science. Seems to have very good reviews and just wondered if anyone has used them?

Thanks!

The S word....it was once said is like fight club, and we all know the first rule of fight club ;-)

I've never been great with doing it and admit to some struggles, I have/was using the Axi ripoff of the Tormek, with Tormek jigs but never really felt it was right for me or that I got to grips with it....
Recently I was introduced to the Wolverine Jigs and slow grinders from Hope Woodturning - all I can say is that it has revolutionised things for me.... not cheap but my belief is it is a system that will outlive me and I hate 'putting edges' ;) back on my gouges less!

Just to say I have no affiliation to Hope Woodturning, but found them very helpful and for me the system works

Not sure if this helps at all...

Padster

It's perfectly easy to do spindle gouges and skews freehand on an oil stone.
With a bit of thought the steeper angled gouges aren't difficult either.
Saves a fortune on kit, quick and easy (a little and often), prolongs chisel life.