Making a stand for a small bandsaw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wilson joinery

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

If you were making a small stand for a small bandsaw how would you go about making a frame for it? I was thinking mortise and tenon joints at the top of the legs (for worktop to bolt onto) and close to the bottom of the legs to prevent any racking and to allow a shelf to be fitted. Or could I use bridle joints? If so, how would I connect to the legs?

Does that sound ok? I’m quite new to this sort of thing as I generally work with sheet material.

Cheers
Pete

I make my machine stands as boxes using 18mm ply with simple butt joints reinforced with dominos. I have a small workshop so everything is on 50 mm castors. I feel that it is more than strong enough. Then I can put shelves, drawers, doors etc to maximise my storage options.

I'd make a simple table. 4 legs with aprons M&Td in, and a top bigger than the base of the saw so there'd be room to put bits n bobs. I generally prefer clear floor underneath rather than storage. You can always put a box of stuff there instead.

I'd go even simpler and use halving joints, much easier where you've got 2 rails coming onto the legs ay the same height. What size timber will you be using? This will have some influence on the design, eg. will bracing be needed.
Brian

Thanks all.

Timber will be a little under 2 3/4” x 1 3/4”. Brian would it be possible for you to send me a sketch? I can’t picture the method you describe.

Cheers
Pete

I'd go even simpler and use halving joints, much easier where you've got 2 rails coming onto the legs ay the same height. What size timber will you be using? This will have some influence on the design, eg. will bracing be needed.
Brian
I'll do something later today