Metal cart/stand

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmon1234

UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi

I am a true newbie here and this is my first post. I am well in my way to completing the build of a 2x72 belt grinder for making knives. It is made out of steel and has a 1HP motor. It is pretty heavy. The frame is welded to a 12" x 20" 1/4 steel base and the motor is also screwed onto this base (I have welded some studs to bolt the motor to).

I wanted to also make a cart / stand for it with a couple of castors underneath so that I can move this around my shed. Preferably with only 2 castors so that it moves only when tilted.

After looking around YouTube etc. I see most builds use angle or square tube mild steel to make a frame. I have no idea how to figure out how "strong" a frame I need for the grinder... I really dont want to overkill the build.

Are there any rules of thumb for the construction of such a cart? Do I need corner braces? How many cross bars (if any) do I need? Etc etc.

Any thoughts or ideas would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks,
D

This Is the stand I made a few weeks ago. Made from 35mm 3mm wall box section with plywood shelves for the VFD and spare belts.
Mine goes on castors as i need to move it. Perfectly strong enough but not heavy to move/lift.

Ill get some pictures of the finished stand when I get home.

Attachments

• Capture2.PNG
    Capture2.PNG
    34.9 KB · Views: 0
  • Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    218.6 KB · Views: 0
Workshop is a little busy at the moment so they are not great pictures.

Wiring travels through the bent tube to the switches.
Gundog Forge Grinder kit for anyone interested.

I use this for sanding some of my wooden parts hence the 100mm extract attached.
The parts have a radius of 10mm in one corner so accompanied with a 9.5mm roller I can sand right up into the corners.

Attachments

• IMG_7291.jpeg