Am I now a proper woodworker?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Penny

Established Member
Reaction score
Some say that you're not a proper woodworker until you've had a workshop injury. Well then, I'm a proper woodworker!

I thought I'd try making a bowl from a 3/4 piece of timber. I attached the faceplate and mounted the timber. I set the tool rest and checked the clearance. All was good. I set the speed at 400rpm. And I set the roughing gouge to work.

Now I don't know how, but I managed to get my pinky finger of my right hand (I'm left handed) between the tool rest and the rotating timber. Ouchy! on the knuckle side I ended up with a large chunk of missing skin from the wood. On the inside over the 1st joint I had a deep, very bloody cut. Very bloody. Fortunately there was plenty of wood shavings and sawdust on the floor to absorb the blood.

I took myself off to the local A&E and there it was X-Rayed. No breaks. Plastics were called to take a look as I couldn't bend my finger. Oh dear. It looks like a torn tendon. So that's me going in for surgery on Sunday morning to fix it up. I may have a cast for 6 weeks. Not exactly conducive to woodworking.

So at least I can claim to being a proper woodworker now!

Sorry to hear that Penny, its an odd saying that to be a proper woodworker, you need to have made a mistake/had an accident but its one I've heard many times.

Hope the OP goes well and that you recover quickly.

Hi

Sorry to hear of your injury.

You may consider yourself to be a proper woodworker but using a roughing gouge on bowl work does not make you a proper turner.

I suggest you do a bit of research before you revisit the lathe and potentially injure yourself again

Regards Mick