New square required!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScottGoddard

Established Member
Reaction score
As I spend more and more time woodworking then I have come to realise that I need more accurate tools...Therefore what are the most recommend squares that people recommend/use. I am a hobbyist, not a pro,

ScottGoddard":2mapwse3 said:
As I spend more and more time woodworking then I have come to realise that I need more accurate tools...Therefore what are the most recommend squares that people recommend/use. I am a hobbyist, not a pro,
Whether you're hobbyist or pro it doesn't matter, if you're going to have a square it has to exactly that . . . .square.
If it's not square then it's not worth having. The more you do the more realise that things have to be straight, flat and square to have a chance of a project turning out half decent.

Squares can be "in" or "out" of square regardless of price.
I tried to buy a "certified" square a while back. The company advertised their stuff to whatever the BS or En number is (I cant remember it off hand). When I asked for a certificate with it the price doubled.

I bought a standard square and easily tested it by drawing a line and flipping the square to check it from the other way, and this bog standard square was more accurate than my eye could tell.
I would just say stay away from REALLY cheap, like silverline and rolson. I bought a rolson square and found the bar to be bent in both planes.

The British Standard for a machinist's square is BS 939 (German/European is DIN 875-1).