Wedged through mortices.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mailman14

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm new in this section, so please forgive me if it's been asked before?

Is there a mathematical formula for positionig the kerf for a wedge, when cutting mortice & tenons? I'm currently planning a shelf / display unit, and drawing it in Sketchup, I'm not sure where to put the cut-out. I've not seen it mentioned in books, but looking at photo's of work done, it seems intuitive, or is that just "it looks good, 'cos a professional's done it"?

I was working on a 1:4:1 spacing - is that too much?
Overall length of mortice is 1 1/2", equal sided 'v' cut-out (should it slope to the 'outside'?), width & length (thickness of planks) 1/2", if that helps - not made any sawdust yet - so all help gratefully received before I ruin it...

I'll see if I can post a pic from sketchup on here in a bit.
Help! Thanks,

'Bvt

wedgedmortice.jpg

Just for clarification - top view, the cut is longer than the thickness of the plank (wedge extends into the visible part of the shelf), lower view is in line with edge of shelf. L/H 'V' cuts, R/H angled to outside edge.

Any suggestions?

Tradtionally, methinks, they are through tenons.

I reckon you are being unnecessarily fussy about this detail. To be honest, it doesn't really matter. The location and the shape of the cut is going to be down to aesthetic choice and your judgement of the grain and strength of the wood. The only thing about wedging tenons that really takes any thinking about is driving the wedges in together such that they end up the same width when cut off and cleaned up.

If in doubt about the spacing or proportion of anything, always fall back on the good old Golden Section.......it seldom lets you down.

Mike