Turning speeds

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peter907

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
A chart came with my lathe giving recommended turning speeds for different wood diameters when roughing, general turning or finishing. I'm very new to woodturning and only have carbide tools with square, round, and diamond cutters. I appreciate that normal tools require different techniques to carbide tools and was therefore wondering if these speed guidelines remain the same for whichever type of tool is used. My lathe does have a digital rpm readout.

Ultimately it's what you feel comfortable with, my biggest advice would be that if it feels too fast then it is too fast, as you progress in your turning journey you will get a feel for how fast you can turn but the guidelines are always a good place to start.
For sanding though slower is better.

Generally speaking, it is easier to get a good cut with a high speed but you will often need to start slow if your piece is not balanced. With a digital control you can start very slow (for safety) and gradually turn up the speed until your lathe starts to shake, then turn it down a bit and take very light cuts to get it more nearly round. I don't know what carbide tools are like for roughing but I suspect you may need to make your blanks as round as possible before you begin (using bandsaw, handsaw, electric plane or whatever). The rounder it gets, the faster you can go. Others may have other advice but I am not sure that a slower speed is necessarily safer as the tool may bounce about more than at a higher speed.

Or find a men's shed or turning club near you
As previously advised in this earlier thread:

Any advice welcome