I only want to turn wood into dowel, otherwise round bars

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richard6299

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi. I've just bought an inexpensive lathe to turn wood into dowel. I've never done any wood turning before. My thinking is, I need only tools that will make dowel, and that I ought to buy tools of some decent quality. So, can anyone here please recommend some tools I coud buy that will do the job I am seeking to do and which are of pretty decent quality? No need to be of highest quality though. Thank you. Rich

EDIT: I think I need a roughing tool and a parting tool, and presumably another to make the dowel. Possibly then I strictly need three tools? I am assuming when you try to reach the diameter you are seeking, you exchange the roughing tool for another sort of tool.

Last edited:
i'm sure you have a reason
also
you will need some outside callipers to check the diameter of the dowel, when i was making tools on a lathe - found really useful - but quite a few years ago now

toolstation sell 200 for 2.69
a little over penny each
or
you can buy dowell material in about 3' length fo just over a £1

I suspect the wood may cost more

My first project is to make this jointing piece. Is this done entirely with the roughing tool? Or when I get near to the required diameter, do I choose another sort of tool? Because some precision is required. Thanks. Rich

Attachments

• Jointing Dowel.jpg
    Jointing Dowel.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 0
Last edited:
Short answer: yes, it’s possible. Buy a couple of 2.4m 44 mm square, planed timber from B&Q (£10 each), and turn it to the dimensions you need, you will get 14 per length. You may master it in half a dozen tries, or it may take you closer to 30. If you can’t do it by the end of 2x of those boards then you need a different method.