Hi there, from a lost soul awaiting direction....

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fibbin Archie

Reaction score
I am Archie, Fibbin Archie (Colin to anyone that asks.) I am 64, Married to an American, nestling in green nowhere, UK midlands. I am a joiner by trade, retired, with Pancreatic Cancer, trying to complete a few dreams along the way....
I bought a fairly old but remarkably well made and in great condition machine. An Axminster CCL. I think. Nevertheless, I am in the process of having a mess about, some 25mm dowels initially, and today I put a piece of 4x2 pine on the face plate and turned into a round...er...thing. I was a bit perturbed that when I tried the parting tool to slice off an 8mm plate from the face with the tool, in what I believed was the correct presentation to the workpiece, when I'll be blowed, the wood started smoking? Then the tool blued up at the tip? I have watched tons of videos on turning, always take on aboard anything I am told is the way to go, but I never dreamed this would happen. I can't think why? Possibly the tool was dull? Perhaps I am a buffoon? The speed was too fast? I am flummoxed for more suggestions although the buffoon one seems to be in the lead so far.
Help, guidance, honest critique, I have been there tales, even "you did what!?" Are all OK, as are expletives when necessary?
As long as it moves me on.
Actually, one more comes to mind, how about rubbish tools. I did just buy them from Ebay for mickey mouse money, just to get me started. That does seem another possible, just shows how cheap I am....
Cheers
Colin (FA)