Why do we have so many issues with software programs

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spectric

Staff member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
It seems to be a thing at the moment where people like Microsoft are delivering products that they think we want or will like but without really getting any customer feedback and I am finding the newer products seem more tempermental and less user freindly than there predecessors. First issue was with moving onto Windows 10 and finding the new start menu was just horrible so had to install a 3rd party product called Start Menu X which gave me back the old XP style interface and all works well. Then Microsoft has stopped support for Office 2013 which I have been using without any issues for the last ten years, so forced to upgrade to office 2021 even though microsoft really pushes office 365 which you only rent. This product has been tempermental and given many issues that I have never encountered before and also this really odd so called simplified ribbon. The best way to describe the logic behind this is that rather than keep tools in a toolbox, fixtures in another box and say wood in a woodrack you just put tools anywhere and mix everything up. In the case of this ribbon the tools menu has gone and the tools put in many other places for you to play hide and seek. Again solution was a 3rd party program that adds back the classic ribbon with the extra tools of office 2021 included and now all seems to work because you can find the tools you need. So if Microsofts newer products are that good there would be no demand for these 3rd party add on's to return the product back to a more familiar useable interface but it seems to be a growing market where Microsoft is thinking it is improving a product but many others disagree and these 3rd party providers are cashing in on microsofts failures.