Replacing a DG unit.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Brown

Freeloading Social media influenza
Reaction score
I have a fogged DG unit, and I'm planning on replacing it as soon as the weather improves. It's fitted in an oak frame, with oak beading pinned on outside. I've never done this before, as all my previous dwelling were single glazed. Can anyone advise me on the correct methods, or point me at a useful guide? One thing I'm a bit concerned about is possibly having to buy miles of sealant strip and only using a few metres.
P.S. If it makes any difference to the procedure, it's a non-opening window.
P.P.S I just checked out Flexistrip prices, and it seems my fears were unfounded. I probably saw a price for a giant roll somewhere, and got the wrong end of the stick!

Last edited:
I’d use 3mm security tape on the frame, pop the double glazing unit, which will stick like glue to the tape. (Make sure you add glazing [plastic] spacers so it’s centred) Low Modulus silicone around the double glazing unit. Bead of silicone around the glass and the frame and then stick in the beading. Pin if the beading needs it. I try not to pin, makes it far easier to reglaze with no down side IMO. Just check that the silicone is compatible with DG units, some destroys the seal.

Wherever you buy the glass/window will advise the best way of fixing and most probably provide suitable lengths of tape or whats needed for negligible extra cost. I have bought replacement units from a local double glazing firm who were happy to help - they make a profit on the sale without any effort, Take a photo of the window in position it might help