planer thicknesser

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sapper

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm only a small time hobby woodworker and sometime in the future I'd like to think I could buy a planer thicknesser. This would only be for the very occasional use and being a pensioner on a very limited budget I couldn't afford a lot. I notice Screwfix do a Titan one at about £180 would this do or is it rubbish?

Appreciate your help and advice.

sapper....
was u a....sapper....?
u haven't much to loose at that price plus Screwfix gives a good warranty....
guess it'll do a reasonable job....

I think it will depend on your expectations. If you are trying to flatten and square up boards that are 1-3' long and an inch or two thick then you can likely get it working acceptably. If you are trying to get 6' long boards, that are 4" thick, totally true then I think the beds are too short and the machine too light weight, so it'll frustrate you more than help you. Also my experience with any machine is it takes some time to workout how to get the best out of it. Screwfix have a good warranty so if you really find it is not up to task be ready to take it back.

Thanks for your thoughts and tips I appreciate you only get what you pay for perhaps I ought to wait until I can afford something a little better. It seems Machine Mart do one that's about £300 which seems to get good reviews

I'm only a small time hobby woodworker and sometime in the future I'd like to think I could buy a planer thicknesser.
Do you really need one, in your position I would look at buying your wood already planed from a decent wood yard and invest my time in the making rather than the wood preparation.