Which planer-thicknesser?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WoodYewToo

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm in the market for something small and fairly inexpensive. It's got to be semi-portable (not for on-site work... but for wheeling around in a very small workshop, where every machine has to be moved into the one decent working area and then moved away for the next machine operation - oh and it maybe also wheeled outdoors for some work). My only experience in using a planer thicknesser was about 30 years ago when I used a Kity K5 combination machine (so I'm no expert on these things).

As an ex engineer, I love the look, functionality and heritage of the old cast iron machines - but they won't work for me in my current mini workshop situation (and, sadly, I haven't got the skills and patience that would be required to maintain and fettle such machines).

Current candidates are the Metabo HC260C and the DeWalt D27300. Although, with recent expenditure on tools, the DeWalt is probably beyond my budget. It looks like a bit of an upgrade on the Metabo (and not having to move tables etc when thicknessing would be a bonus). However, it's a massive £1000 more than the Metabo - and I'm not sure I can see a £1000 benefit over the Metabo.

So... what's the Metabo like to live with in everyday DIY woodworking life? Any major issues?