• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to UK Workshop and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

Now is the time to buy 150 mm metric Starrett Combination Square

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tibi

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hello,

I have never contributed to this forum by my knowledge, just asked questions as I am an inexperienced hobby woodworker. Now it is time to help others.

I just want to share that amazon.co.uk now sells Starrett metric combination square (full version, not the student one) for only 27 pounds.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B003XU78LI/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
There is no discount shown and I have checked on another UK site, where the cost is 71 pounds. Somebody has probably swapped the numbers when entering the price and it should have been 72 pounds.

I think that Amazon has an elaborate system that would warn them when the selling price is lower than the purchasing price. Or maybe they buy these squares in bulk from Starrett for less than 27 GBP per piece.

Anyway, you can buy it now and save some money.

They have been that price since August 2019, so not a mistake.

EDIT: Correction, aside from a brief jump in Aug 2019, they have been £27 since mid 2016.

They have been that price since August 2019, so not a mistake.

EDIT: Correction, aside from a brief jump in Aug 2019, they have been £27 since mid 2016.

Maybe that is the mistake that has not been corrected since 2016. I doubt that those guys that process millions of items know the common market price of Starrett combination square ;) So it does not come strange to them.

It almost looks to good to be true, I wonder if its a genuine Starrett. I almost bought an "Apple" charger a few weeks ago but it turned out to be a fake.