Late in life career shift

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Petemcr

Reaction score
Question for all the folks out there,

Kind of off topic but also on top,

What are peoples opinions on changing careers late on life, is it doable or has anyone managed it? I only ask because I work in IT and having spent a good portion of my life in this line of work it's no longer as rewarding as it used to be, but, doing some woodworking projects I've been doing has felt more rewarding than anything I've done in IT and I'm wondering if I picked the wrong career path or just to keep it as a hobby.

Granted, woodworking is REALLY new to me so it's all fun at this point and I'd imagine doing it as a job might change that, just curious if it's anything anyone else has looked at or even managed.

I was in aviation as a flying instructor and later a training manager in flight simulation. Took early retirement and found a job teaching woodturning and assisting disabled adults to make high end wooden items for resale as a private venture. Great change of direction and most fulfilling. Now retiring from that job, however, returning as a volunteer and potentially a trustee. Get move for me.... good luck with your change of direction.
Mick F

What are peoples opinions on changing careers late on life, is it doable or has anyone managed it? I only ask because I work in IT and having spent a good portion of my life in this line of work it's no longer as rewarding as it used to be, but, doing some woodworking projects I've been doing has felt more rewarding than anything I've done in IT and I'm wondering if I picked the wrong career path or just to keep it as a hobby.

Granted, woodworking is REALLY new to me so it's all fun at this point and I'd imagine doing it as a job might change that, just curious if it's anything anyone else has looked at or even managed.