Dust mask advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe1975

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I’m new to woodworking and have just set up temporarily in a 6x8ft shed. There is little ventilation so I’m concerned about breathing in too much dust. I’m just using hand tools mostly but occasionally get out a circular saw to make a couple of rip cuts. Just working on small projects at the moment so not generating a huge amount of dust.

What mask do you recommend. It needs to be comfortable if I’m going to wear it for 2-3 hrs cutting dovetails. I’m using a fine toothed saw so the dust is very fine.

PS I’ve got a big nose!

I wouldn't want to wear a dust mask for hand tool woodwork, certainly not for a job like cutting dovetails. Caveat being some woods are problematic, some processes like sanding too, mdf is nasty, and I don't know what sensitivities you may have.

My own inclination would be to get an extraction hose onto your circ saw, and other power tools, use the mirka hand sanding blocks with a skinny extraction hose, and get one of the ambient air filters to pull the fine dust out of the air when needed. In a small space, you could have all the air filtered every few minutes.

GVS eclipse and trend stealth masks are both made from flexy silicon and about as good as they get.
Sundstrom half mask is more comfortable but has the weight of the big filter stuck on the front.
They're all OK for 30 minutes and all hurt when you've been wearing them for 2 hours which is why I would do my best not to need them.

If you do have sensitivities, get some PR88 barrier cream for your hands too.

I wouldn't want to wear a dust mask for hand tool woodwork, certainly not for a job like cutting dovetails. Caveat being some woods are problematic, some processes like sanding too, mdf is nasty, and I don't know what sensitivities you may have.