DANGEROUS SPINDLE MOULDER

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony Works Wood

Established Member
Reaction score
FANTASTIC MACHINES

Hi everybody.
I'm no expert, just love the versatility of these machines.

These machines get the most press for eating fingers.
Treat them with respect, they are a joy to use.

I'd just like to hear what you think about these very versatile machines.
What make/model do you have or have worked on in the past.
Is a router table as good as a spindle moulder for mass production?
What HP/KW motor do you need to prevent stalling of the average sized cutter head.

Thanks Tony

I have 2.....
a Kity 429....240v x ? HP ....small enough to get in the van when shop/boat fitting....for mouldings that were just to big for the router table.... .
I also have a 4HP cast iron monster, the name I cant remember *Italien)...been in store for 3 years...part of a multi-purp machine....
Prev machine was a Wadkin EQ with power feed.....
need to buy a power feed for the above.....more money.....!!!!!....lol.....
IMG_0080.JPG

My experience is mainly with a Felder as part of my combination machine.
But firstly I'd take issue with your opening statement. If you have enjoyed the versatility in safety and respect you must be fairly expert.
My Felder benefits from the following features:-
  • Tilting arbor
  • Forward/reverse rotation
  • Speed control
  • Alternative router shaft
  • Separately adjustable infeed/outfeed fences
  • Dust extraction incorporated into the fence assembly
  • Sliding table with transverse fence and hold down clamp
The only additional feature I can think of on more modern machines is a forward tilting shaft, usually 5deg
I have used the machine in all its various modes but only in small production runs so have never felt the need for a power feeder.