Clarke 12c

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All
I have bought a 2nd hand Clarke and would love to get a self centreing Chuck for bowl work… any ideas happy for 2nd hand … novice here so all help appreciated

Are you sure it's a Clarke 12C & not a 12D?
There is no mention on their lathe manuals download page
- Clarke Woodlathes - Download Manuals

I think, but am not positive, that all Clarke lathes have a 3/4" x 16tpi thread on the headstock - so any woodturning chuck with this thread should suit. Preferably a 4" but don't turn your nose up at a 3" if it comes at the right price.

Are you sure it's a Clarke 12C & not a 12D?
There is no mention on their lathe manuals download page
- Clarke Woodlathes - Download Manuals

I think, but am not positive, that all Clarke lathes have a 3/4" x 16tpi thread on the headstock - so any woodturning chuck with this thread should suit. Preferably a 4" but don't turn your nose up at a 3" if it comes at the right price.
Hi deff a Clarke 12c, I have a very old manual

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 0
Looking on eBay for a self centering chuck as that’s what I’ve been told is best …sorry newbie here is a m33 pitch 3.5 any good ? And what does pitch mean

If you buy M33 3.5 you can buy an insert to reduce the thread to ¾x16. It's a good idea as then you can move the chuck on to any other lathe you may get in the future

You do realise you'll pay more for a chuck and jaws than you paid for the lathe? If you think you're likely to take this seriously, look for either a chuck like a Versachuck that takes different backplates or a chuck that has interchangeable inserts. When you move on to a better lathe you can change the backplate or insert and you won't have the major expense all over again.