Blade choice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stevebuk

Established Member
Reaction score
the cabin is almost fitted out now, so not long before i can begin working in there. The first tool i put in there was my Delta scrollsaw, but before i can begin, i will be working with Zebrano, Iroko, Oak, Ply and maybe MDF, is there a hard and fast rule about what blades to use for certain woods, and how do you pick them, skip tooth, reverse tooth, 20tpi,10tpi 30tpi and spiral doesn't really mean much to me as i have never used a scrollsaw before.
Any help appreciated..

Mike Moorlach has written a guide to blade selection on his website here. Although he sells FD blades and the guide is not surprisingly geared towards his own brand, it's still very informative.

As to what blade you choose for which project... a lot of it comes down to personal preference and experience. Much will depend on the type of project you're cutting For example, intarsians make more scrolled/outside cuts than other scrollers so they often choose larger, more aggressive blades. Portrait scrollers tend to make more piercing/inside cuts so they tend to opt for finer blades, often with reverse teeth so as to minimise tearout on the underside of the workpiece.