Biscuit Jointers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rex deWolf

Established Member
Reaction score
Thinking of buying my first bisquit jointer. I have never used one before, but have watched a lot of you tube demo videos. Most of these seem to use the larger biscuit on 18 or 20mm sheet goods (mostly mdf) . Can these jointers be used with thinner stock eg 9 or 10mm thick softwoods/ply/mdf or even osb (for workshop projects) ?

I don't want to spend too much initially which rules out the DeWalt and Makita offerings but would like something reasonably well made and reliable. Would even consider a 240v model but there seems to be fewer of these about. The 2 that have caught my eye are the Einhell Power X-Change 18V or the Trend 18V Cordless Biscuit Jointer. Anyone have actual user experience of either of these? Havnt found many independent reviews of either model on the net.

And finally I have spare 18v batteries from a Tacwise Ranger finishing nailer. Any chance that these might be usable with either of the above modes?
Any help or observations would be much appreciated.

You really need a minimum of 6mm of meat on both sides of the biscuit. When used with PVA the biscuit absorbs moisture and tends to expand thus locking itself into it's slot. I have on occasions used biscuits in thin materials but I've made my own out of hardwood to avoid the problem.
Can't advise on make or cordless types. Mine is a DeWalt in its original Elu livery which has always worked for me.
Brian

I don't want to spend too much initially which rules out the DeWalt and Makita offerings but would like something reasonably well made and reliable.