Bevel angle for gouge

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steve355

Established Member
Reaction score
Evening

These planes I’m making are starting to work really well, but I’m still not there with recreating some of the finer details. I realised my gouges (which I have very little experience with) may be sharpened incorrectly. Or at least I want to eliminate that as a reason for messing it up all the time.

So, to create a gouge cut like the one in the picture below, I presume I need an out cannel gouge? What angle should I grind the primary bevel?

Thanks

Steve

IMG_0818.jpeg

Really it's the same as a chisel. But these need to be really sharp high quality tools to make a cut that shines like that. Practice twisting whilst cutting.

Really it's the same as a chisel. But these need to be really sharp high quality tools to make a cut that shines like that. Practice twisting whilst cutting.
Ok, thanks Johnny.

The reason I asked is that I read somewhere (on a carving website) that they should be sharpened at 10 deg so a 25 deg scoop is easy.

You want about 27º.....In reality between 25º-30º and it needs to be razor sharp with a polished bevel.

The bevel burnishes the cut, which makes it shiny.