Anyone remember what a litre of heating oil cost in 1988.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

artie

Sawdust manufacturer.
Reaction score
Was reminiscing about putting oil fired heating in my first house back around 1988.

I remember it cost around £6.50 per week, which was less than we had spent on coal, and a lot less bother.

I have no idea how many litres that was.

If I knew how much it was per litre I could extrapolate and compare with current prices.

I fitted an Oil fired Rayburn into my cottage in 1988, (still going strong, the Rayburn that is!) I also put in a 2500 litre oil tank, with the thinking i would fill it up, never have been able to afford it, I have a mental record for the first 1000 litre of oil I bought was 9 pence a litre.

Skewed slightly, filling my first Mini with petrol at 6/8d a GALLON still caused me some angst! I was working as a trainee I needed a car which regularly got more than I did per week in milage costs!

Phil

I moved into this house in June 1987 and paid 7p a litre for 28 sec kerosene, by comparison I put 1000 litres in the tank earlier this week and paid 92p litre including fuel tax.

We only put 1500l in this time. Partly becasue the cost was 90p compared to what, maybe 35p last time. We have lower usage now that I have the Wiser valves on all the radiators and we also have maybe 300l sitting in a tank on the farm that needs using up so now is as good a time as any. I look forward to my £100 assistance from whichever member of the "Guess Who" game is in power at the time.

Skewed slightly, filling my first Mini with petrol at 6/8d a GALLON still caused me some angst! I was working as a trainee I needed a car which regularly got more than I did per week in milage costs!

Phil

I can only remember this one example, Anston near Worksop, very early '70s. Might've been nearer Lindrick golf club, come to think....