Which digital calipers?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YorkshireMartin

Established Member
Reaction score
The time has come when I need to get down to the real nitty gritty of accuracy. My trusty starret ruler is accurate and graduated to .25, but for the stuff I want to attempt, I really need some quality calipers.

I'm not an engineer ((if that even needed saying..!) and I've no previous knowledge of them. My dad used to have a set of vernier calipers by moore and wright, but these have long since disappeared.

I've been looking at the Mitutoyo range but I'm not sure which would be best for all around joinery and machine calibration. Lengths and so on. There seems to be a lot of different models and I'm not technical enough to understand the differences.

I gather Mitutoyo are the ones to go for if I can pin down a model, but if anyone has any alternative suggestions, I'd be more than happy to hear them? Failing that, which set of Mitutoyo would you experts recommend?

Many thanks,

Martin

It's up to you but I've got a few cheap pairs from Lidl for less than a tenner each. Plenty of people have checked them against more expensive makes like Mitutoyo etc and there's basically no difference in accuracy. Probably the dearer ones are smoother to use and sometimes the cheap ones eat batteries (although neither of mine have had a problem and still on original batteries at least 3 years old). Easily accurate to 1/2 a thou. which I would have thought was plenty good enough for woodworking and machine setup. I use mine for metalwork but for extra accuracy 1/10ths of thou I still use micrometers.

Buy from Lidl when on offer
They are highly rated, very accurate and the battery lasts and lasts :D

They may be accurate, but they're rubbish quality. I have a pair.