• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Thicknesser vertical gauge

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

RogerS

Established Member
Joined
20 Feb 2004
Messages
17,391
Reaction score
78
Location
In the eternally wet North
I finally got around to getting one of the vertical digital gauges. Not that I want to thickness down to fractions of a millimiter...just that I kept getting caught out and finding that i had to run an extra bit of stock through...which meant that I needed to check all the others etc.

This way, I can go back to a known setting spot-on.

Mounting was a doddle...just the existing holes on the thicknesser carriage, a small spacer and a plate cut from a duff CD. A couple of tapped holes in the main frame held the body of the vertical gauge.



Roger
 

Noel

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
7 Aug 2003
Messages
6,638
Reaction score
286
Nice job Roger. This was the thing you mentioned in a previous thread? Anyway, where and how much? I've a 560 too.

Noel
 

Philly

Established Member
Joined
24 Nov 2003
Messages
6,874
Reaction score
0
Location
Dorset, England.
Roger
Is that an extra for the Delta is is it a "Roger-Modification"?
Looks very handy!
Philly :D
 

Travis Byrne

Established Member
Joined
4 May 2004
Messages
253
Reaction score
0
Location
Oklahoma, USA
Roger
I also have the 560 and my first thought was, "I need one of those too".
But where does it end. What happened to good old days when the measurement was 3/4 + one more little mark and on the fat side. :D
I can not afford a cnc machine and it looks like that is the direction we are headed. :evil:
Where is fun left in the project, altho your guage sure looks good on the 560. :D

Travis
 

Philly

Established Member
Joined
24 Nov 2003
Messages
6,874
Reaction score
0
Location
Dorset, England.
O.k. so its just a gauge and you've added to your planer-its not a factory add-on?? Is this right? It certainly looks handy!
Philly :D
 

RogerS

Established Member
Joined
20 Feb 2004
Messages
17,391
Reaction score
78
Location
In the eternally wet North
Philly

No - it's a 'Rogermod'

Travis - I agree with you and the trick is that I don't really bother with setting it to a specific measurement but use the zero position. When I'm thicknessing stock I tend to pass through one piece and thickness it down to whatever I need. That's my reference. I then zero the gauge.

Then when I thickness the rest of the stock down it becomes a no-brainer.

If I need to run an additional piece through later on then I know that it will be the same thickness

Roger
 

Mcluma

Established Member
Joined
2 Feb 2005
Messages
1,835
Reaction score
0
Location
Pyrford - Woking
Roger that is a nice modification, =D>

I think i could do with something like that on my DW Planer.

McLuma
 

Chris Knight

Established Member
Joined
14 Jan 2004
Messages
6,641
Reaction score
3
Location
SE London - NW Kent
Roger,
That is a nice modificationI have thought of doing something similar on my Scheppach P/T but the apparent difficulty of fixing the gauge put me off. I shall now add it to the pile of stuff awaiting tuits
 

Bean

Established Member
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
1,518
Reaction score
0
Location
scouting about
Nice one Roger, I have also looked at doing this but bulked at the cost of those units, I have settled for a cut down vernier as and when I find a cheap digital one.


Bean
 

Mcluma

Established Member
Joined
2 Feb 2005
Messages
1,835
Reaction score
0
Location
Pyrford - Woking

dddd

Established Member
Joined
24 Apr 2005
Messages
47
Reaction score
0
Location
Leeds
Looks like a tidy piece of kit that.

Out of interest, where did you get the thicknesser? Did you get it in the UK or ship it over from the US?
 

RogerS

Established Member
Joined
20 Feb 2004
Messages
17,391
Reaction score
78
Location
In the eternally wet North
dddd - I think I bought it from DM Tools IIRC. Can't really remember. I just did a search on Kelkoo or Google at the time.

mcluma...there's also a direct link to the suppliers earlier on in the thread

Roger
 

Mcluma

Established Member
Joined
2 Feb 2005
Messages
1,835
Reaction score
0
Location
Pyrford - Woking
Yeah I did see that, but that thing is about Gbp40, I found a couple on the German Ebay for less then a tenner. and as i use the planer once a month or so, I wouldn't like to spend to much money on it :wink: .

otherwise she from indoors will start to aks for compensation in the house.

McLuma
 
Top