Gear cutting in a lathe.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Retired

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi,

I adopted restoring vintage valve radios as a winter hobby when I retired in 2000 knowing nothing about them; I wanted to leave my comfort zone and try something new. I then spent the next ten years becoming deeply involved in this new hobby to the point of having articles published in the BVWS Bulletin (British vintage wireless society). I was self taught with help from radio forum members but I also learned transformer winding; wood veneering and French polishing.

In 2009 I was honoured by the society gaining top award for best restoration 2009 which I found truly humbling considering I had started the hobby from scratch just to enjoy during winters. The restoration wasn't a vintage radio but an AVO Wave Winder these winders used to wind tuning coils and they are rather complicated machines. Whilst buying enameled copper winding wire I spotted this very rough looking winder and as I'm a mechanical engineer thought what a lovely project it would make; even in its rough state it wasn't cheap but I soon had it on the bench. The winder proved to be virtually scrap it was seized solid with rust and parts were missing; just like the kind of challenge I like.