Stair Ballustrades for beginner . . .

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Saville

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I've been waiting for the right project to begin my turning adventures. With a home move imminent and new stair gates needed it's the ideal time to dip my toe in the water.

So, in the short term (next 6-8 weeks) I'd like to make 2 stairgates that contain ballustrades to match the existing stairs. Like these:

ballustrade.jpg

I think I'm going to need 14 of these for now (though I will need another 40 or so when we tackle the loft conversion . . .) They will be painted and probably made of pine.

Longer term I've got some posts/spindles to do for the outside of the house and will then want to do some more refined stuff for furtniture legs etc (so no bowls/pens etc at this stage :eek: ) .

So as a beginner I'm looking for a few pieces of advice:

1. Good starter book/DVD for beginner turners.
2. Suggestions for a good lathe (budget is secondary as I would like it to last (been suckered by cheap tools in the past :evil: ) but I think around £300-400 should get me something good.
3. Suggestions for (again good quality, built to last etc) turning tools.
4. Any foreseeable problems/issues I've not thought of (I'm sure there are many!!!)

When I get sorted I'll post some more specific questions on the ballustrades - and maybe even some WIP pics 8)

TIA for your help.

Cheers for now,

Mike.

Hi Mike and welcome.

As to your questions;-

1/ Keith Rowley, 'A foundation course' and the similar DVD, excellent tuition for the price. Published by GMC publications.

2/ You seem to know exactly what you want the lathe for, so you need to look at the maximum sizes of wood you intend to turn. Then look around at the lathes that will accommodate it.