Splitting the line.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

homeinthecity

Established Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone had views on ‘splitting the line’ when sawing. I’m trying to improve my sawing accuracy after seeing joints coming in a saw kerfs width narrow.

My assumption is that I should start sawing so the kerf lines up to the waste side of the line, not directly down the middle of it…?

(I’m amateur and self taught, so apologies if this is a very basic question!).

I was wondering if anyone had views on ‘splitting the line’ when sawing. I’m trying to improve my sawing accuracy after seeing joints coming in a saw kerfs width narrow.

My assumption is that I should start sawing so the kerf lines up to the waste side of the line, not directly down the middle of it…?

(I’m amateur and self taught, so apologies if this is a very basic question!).
Yes thats it. But if it's e.g. a thick pencil line, in theory the cut is down the middle and half of it is left on the workpiece. If it's a very thin line e.g. a knife cut, then the kerf goes to the waste side, as you can't split a knife line.

Leave the line
Take the line
Split the line

Three terms to help you increase accuracy when working with a pencil or ink line.
It does work.
You might leave or take the line depending on how you marked out in the first place, left or right handed side of a square for example. I use one or the other of those much more often than splitting the line, and the cut is made with a mitre or handheld circ saw more often than with a handsaw.

For precise work like furniture and cabinets, mark with a knife is best and put the kerf in the waste as recommended.
If you use japanese style blades with alternating ground teeth, you can place the tips of the teeth either left or right side of the blade in a knife cut and follow it.