Shortening timber

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul Ross

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a novice here, trying to build some racking for a new shed. One problem I keep coming up with is finding that a piece of wood is slightly too long and having to trim the end. I have very limited equipment, mostly hand tools. What is the best way to trim 2 or 3mm off the end of a piece of 45X45mm? I've tried a saw but shaving off such a tiny bit it's impossible to keep the saw in line. A plane just doesn't seem to work (but I only have one, maybe it's the wrong type). The best method I've found is a rasp then sandpaper but that is a very slow process. Any suggestions much appreciated.

Simply put a decent and accurate mitre saw/ chop saw . Depends on your budget and the maximum sized timber you are likely to work with but that’s probably the easiest power tool to get to grips with. With a good miter saw you can trim the thinnest amount from any given length.

Not much use after the fact but measuring more accurately before cutting so you don't have to trim is always the best way. But when that doesn't work....

for a 45x45mm piece of wood you could use a really sharp chisel. I'd work from the 4 corners to the centre so you don't break out the opposite side. With a proper sharp chisel you should be able to push it by hand and take off a mm or so easily. Just don't ask how best to sharpen your chisel unless you want a lot of replies. Just go on youtube and look at a few sharpening videos and use what you have available.

Failing that if you are really stuck you could probably do it with a stanley knife working around each side, taking a little at a time. Just wear gloves and watch where the blade goes if it were to slip. Whenever i use a stanley knife I somehow seem to get a new scar no matter how careful i am?!