These stool legs are getting the better of me - what am I doing wrong?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi All

I'm trying to make the stool in the pictures 1 and 2. It's my first time making stools. I probably should have started with a simpler stool but I'm all in now so too late for that! I'm not far from getting the legs right, and this stool is all about the legs. The seat is easy (I've got help with fasteners on another post) and once the legs are correct the apron is easy (in theory).

My problem is that the distance between the legs should be 350mm on all sides (pictures 3 and 7) which it isn't. Two sides are (picture 5), and and two aren't (picture 6). I'm using pine to get the design right and then will use ash for the finished stools. I saw a post on this forum with a similar design (but had a carved seat) but I can't find the post to query the author.

The top (starting 45mm square) and bottom (25mm square cut to size on the taper jig) are at an angle of 5.4 deg cut with a table saw. I then put the leg on a shop made taper jig to taper two sides to 25mm. Creating the flats for the apron is tricky, I've used a shop made jig also (I can share lots more pictures if necessary!).

Any help would be great. What am I doing wrong? What should the process be? Are there any books that explain all the different techniques for making stools / chair / table legs etc etc. Apologies for the very long post. I thought it best to be more descriptive.

Thanks
Owen

Attachments

• Stool Picture 1.JPEG
    Stool Picture 1.JPEG
    864.8 KB · Views: 0
  • Stool Picture 2.JPEG
    Stool Picture 2.JPEG
    916.6 KB · Views: 0
  • Stool Picture 3.PNG
    Stool Picture 3.PNG
    37.8 KB · Views: 0
  • Stool Picture 4.JPEG
    Stool Picture 4.JPEG
    999.9 KB · Views: 0
  • Stool Picture 5.JPEG
    Stool Picture 5.JPEG
    939.9 KB · Views: 0