Shop Vac

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Al Lewis

Reaction score
Hi all.

Newbie here.

I've just built myself a small workshop, and for health (and sanity!) reasons have started to investigate what to do about dust.

At the moment, I've only got a few small tools - a circular saw and track saw, belt and random orbital sander (about to add a spindle sander), mitre saw and palm router. I'll soon be adding a larger router mounted in a bench, and a table saw, most likely the Dewalt 7485.

I understand that I should be looking at a hplv type "shop vac" for use with the saws and sanders - I just wondered if anyone could offer any recommendations? Budget will not stretch to anything like the Festool midi - looking at something sub £200 and potentially adding a cyclone to it. I would like a tool socket on the vacuum, and preferably something not too noisy. I've found a couple of reasonably priced options such as the Dewalt DXV23PTA, Trend T33a (review suggest this ones extremely noisy!) and a really cheap option in the Titan TTB776VAC. Only one of these (the Trend) is M class, but I'm not sure if it's the machines themselves that get rated as M class, or if this is down to the filters that go in them? I did come across a Festool CT15E for £250 - is this any better than other options, or is it more expensive just because its Festool? I have noticed many people praising Nilfisk machines - the Attix 30-01 looks to be powerful, pretty quiet and with power tool take off, but again doesn't appear to be class M rated.

Could anyone offer advice? Am I overthinking this and most machines in this price range are likely to give me more or less the same dust protection?

Thanks all.

What's got me freaked a bit is all I've been reading about the dust particles we don't see - should I be looking at some sort of air filter / purifier, in addition to the vac?