Rutlands Router table.... Any Good

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AstroMike

Reaction score
Go gentle on me....I'm totally new to WW and my only experience to date is building a shed with a roll-off-roof... I have several routers left to me by my later father - A Elu 177, Erbauer 1/2" and I recently bought a Trend T4. I was looking for a first router table as the hand routers are challenging to cut consistent cuts (most likely the user....) The one pictured is currently on sale for around £170 ?? Just wondering if this was an OK router or what ???

1707397286495.png

Hi Mike

I can't advise on the router table but I'd hang on to the ELU 177 especially if it's the "E" variable speed model and in decent condition. They were generally better quality than more recent alternatives, still sought after and many spares available. I parted with mine many years ago and always regretted it though I still have it's little brother the 96e at least.

I am looking for router table purchase and can see Kreg, CRT/MK3, Rutlands among the few brands that I can see sell cheaper products. But, I am not sure which one is good. I was on the verge of buying the SKIL router table, it has a lot of reviews on Amazon. But, when I saw the youtube reviews from people that are into woodworking as profession, they pointed out that the fence is not reliable. Now I am not sure what to do.

You can always build your own table with a formica-style top, along with a good quality router plate dropped into it? A hell of a lot cheaper than what is basically 1" square metal framework. Alternatively look for a second hand table for sale on here or the likes of ebay/gumtree etc. Have a look around, there are other options to handing over £1,000+ for a table. Hope this is of help and not confused you even further!