Quangsheng No.62 low angle vs No.5 vs No.5 1/2?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe1975

Established Member
Reaction score
Please help me decide.

There’s not a huge difference in price between these planes, but I can only afford one. I will purchase a low angle block plane as well, and already have an old Stanley No.4. The three planes will have to do for now.

I have a bandsaw, but no other machines, so will need to use the plane for dimensioning and smoothing all stock. I also will use it for shooting end grain.

I am new to woodworking and am intending to build freestanding contemporary furniture like modern chairs, coffee tables, boxes etc.

Please comment if you have experience with these planes

No point in low angle planes (except little one hand user block planes) so I'd cross that off the list.
5 is much smaller than a 5 1/2. Perhaps 5 for furniture, 5 1/2 for joinery?
5 1/2 seems to be most favoured if you only have one. Thats what I'd go for, as you already have a 4 which is close to 5 in size.
Not the "bedrock" unless its same price as standard. Bedrock is another pointless design.
I'd prefer a 2nd hand Record 5 1/2, available at a fraction of the price!
You can "shoot" end grain with any plane, if it is nice and sharp and preferably with a slight camber

Last edited:
how much are you going to do with a plane and what will that be? Is that yet to be determined?

low angle planes are little more than a glorified block plane smoother and not good for much else, but people love them because they're simple. I've had offerings from LN and LV and have none of them - they are a hindrance to doing significant work...BUT, if all you intend to do is smoothing work, not that often, maybe with a little bit of shooting mixed in, you won't notice how limiting they are- or may not.