precision spacer blocks

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Evening all,

I am hoping that someone can please advise.
I am a hobbyist who enjoys making veneer parquetry using very primitve methods.
Currently I use metal washers or nuts of the same size pushed against a straightedge which my rule rests upon to try and produce a consitent width of veneer prior to me cutting the angles.
This method is pretty hit and miss, as the spacers I use arent exactly precise, and was wondering if someone here could please advise if there is a product that I can buy that consists of precise spacers of differing sizes/widths which will allow me to cut accurate strips of veneer??

In essence, can I buy a variety of precise spacers of different sizes, that I can use as spacers??

Sorry if the above is 'as clear as mud', but couldnt think of the words to make it clearer 😁

Many thanks in advance
Simon

I’d look for a carp set of engineers slip gauges on an auction site. I say carp, as you’re not interested if they’re worn….ie a micron or two out in size😂😂

Or maybe
15pcs Gauge Block Set Aluminum Alloy Height Gauge Block High Precision Setup Bars Portable Testing Gauge Block Measuring Tool for Router and Table Saw Woodworking Accessories Aluminum Alloy Height https://amzn.eu/d/3VZEzT4

I’d look for a carp set of engineer's slip gauges

The challenge with this approach is it is quite difficult to make more than one spacer of the same thickness. There is a bit of thinking involved in selecting block combinations to achieve this.

---

An easy and cheap source of multiple copies of the same dimension object are drill bits, available in 0.1mm increments. You just have to think of a way to deal with the round shape.

As above, you need to state the dimension range and size increment you require.