Veneer vacuum press advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi,

I hoping that I can glean some knowledge from the wealth of experience found here?

I am a hobbyist who primarily works with veneers.
My projects include marquetry pictures, jewellery/trinket boxes & I produce alot of parquetry based designs.

Over the years, I have been using homemade clamping cauls to apply pressure when gluing up my pictures, but I am considering buying a vacuum veneer press.
After alot of researching it has become apparent that the cost of vacuum press kits are extremely expensive and completely unrealistic for me to buy, as all my projects are donated to friends and family, & I certainly do not profit from any of the items I make.

I was hoping that someone here could advise on a more cost effective product that is available which is an upgrade to my basic cauls.
This upgrade isn't a necessity as I normally have success with my current process, but I just have a whim to try an upgraded method.

Many, many thanks in advance,
Simon

before vaccum presses, they used to use hot hide glue, it's not that hard to make, as an introduction check this video out, all you need is the hot hide glue and a hammer veneer tool, I think it's the most cost effective way of veneering anything, it's a bit messy but definitely the traditional way how it was done for hundreds of years until the early/mid 20th century.

https://www.finewoodworking.com/2020/03/20/hammer-veneering-with-hide-glue

Vac systems needn't cost a fortune. See the one I sold recently here. S/h pumps are readily available on ebay from about £40 and bags can be made from plastic sheeting. Connecting pump to bag can be done with basic plumbing fittings.