power router problems

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thetyreman

Established Member
Reaction score
I was routing a slot for a guitar, luckily it's just a prototype test piece, but it came out wider than it should be, the bit is 1/4" but the slot measures around 10mm? what could be causing this? I'm a power tool noob.

Attachments

• routerproblems-1.jpg
    routerproblems-1.jpg
    977.9 KB · Views: 0
  • routerproblems-2.jpg
    routerproblems-2.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 0
  • routerproblems-3.jpg
    routerproblems-3.jpg
    968 KB · Views: 0
I've had this with small cutters especially single flute ones - the slot becomes wider than the cutter. This is going to happen to an extent anyway, as the cut is dynamic and any eccentricity will be magnified. A good quality cutter will give a better result,
If the swarf isn't clearing properly this could also be having an effect on the width. Also if you are making several passes and the fence isn't completely rigid. From 1/4" to 10mm ( nearly 4mm) does seem a lot.

hi, it's a really good bit, wealden tools, I'm thinking it must be the collet, it doesn't go in very far into the collet.

Hi there - Yes I would make sure the collet is clean and properly tightened. If no joy , you could go down a bit size and try a 5mm or even 4mm to see if this will give the result required. Might be worth checking with some of your other straight bits to see how accurate these are, which might give an indication as to where the fault lies. Wealden are a fairly good supplier of bits, but something like Titman cutter might be more accurate.

Edit, Might be worth checking if your collet is 6mm rather than 1/4" which might be affecting the performance.

Last edited: