New to the hobby, is this normal?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tombo46

Established Member
Reaction score
Ello everyone. I'm new to the hobby and as previously mentioned I am doing a shop refit along with a few little projects just for personal enjoyment. First place to start with woodworking is well....wood!

I am unfamiliar with working with and finishing different kind of woods so I thought a good place to start would be to get a selection of different hardwoods and have a play around. I ordered some from a reputable online source but I'd be lying if I said I was overly pleased with what arrived.

I was expecting square edged, planed timber however what I received was far from it. Probably about 25% of it is what I would have expected and the rest is in my opinion pretty poor. Most of it has a very rough finish which isn't a problem as finished work can be sanded but I would have expected it to be smooth. Also a few pieces have chunks missing on the flat face and/or bark or chunks missing on corners. A couple of pieces are twisted and a few also a good inch thinner at one end. A couple of bits have been sawn into a few inches too.

This isn't a complaint (which is why I haven't said where I got it) but I was just curious if this is what I should expect when ordering wood online? Is it normal to get this or is it simply a case of me getting all the old "scrap" as it was purchased as a selection of different woods? Should I contact the supplier?

Any advice much appreciated =]

All the best,

Tom

Damn that's pretty poor =( I don't even know of anywhere near me that does planed hardwoods. I think lavers do oak but that's it.

If you can't visit to select your boards, then the only way to teach these cowboys a lesson is to reject the shipment and make them deliver quality timber to your requirements, ideally when you are there to inspect it.