Simonswerk hinge quality?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doug71

Established Member
Reaction score
I have never used Simonswerk hinges before but have heard good things about them so thought I would give them a try on some cabinets I'm making.

It didn't start well as the delivery didn't turn up yesterday as promised and when it arrived today the packaging was wrapped in parcel tape which had "Resealed by DPD with care" written all over it. Upon opening the battered box I found half the hinges and all the screws were missing.

Now onto the hinges, firstly the Antique Brass looks much darker than expected but my main issue is the quality of the hinges. When the hinges are laid flat some are different widths, some are tight and squeak when you open them while others have a bit of play in them. I called the supplier and they didn't seem bothered just saying they are handmade in the UK and the best cabinet hinges you will find.

I'm a bit disappointed as thought they would be better, so far they don't seem worth 4x the price of Carlisle Brass or Zoo hinges etc.

Are my expectations too high, what are other peoples experiences, I even wonder if they aren't genuine Simonswerk hinges I have been sent?

simonswerks 1.jpg

simonswerks 2.jpg

Last edited:
I don’t like the look of those gaps , surely this will show up once the doors are hung , based on the cost compared to ghe quality I’d not be happy with them . If you can send them back and get a refund. There is no point paying a premium price for a mediocre product. Imo of course..

I can't see a reason why they would vary in width There is no reason why the flaps on a solid drawn brass hinge should not be of a consistent size. I would be tempted return them as not being of a good enough quality.