Kity 613 Bandsaw wheels not in line?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrM

Reaction score
I recently bought a refurbished Kity 613 bandsaw and I’ve been having problems setting it up, but as I’m new to bandsaws I’m not sure if it’s me or not! I‘m aware that the Kity bandsaw is unusual in that the blade is set slightly overhanging the edge of the tyre, not the middle, but when I set the blade on the top wheel, it is almost off the bottom wheel and easily falls off when using it. I wonder if the wheels aren’t perfectly aligned and are causing this, or am I doing something wrong? Also, could it be that I’m using too thin a blade as it’s a 6.3mm blade (is there a minimum size?). The only way it will work without the blade falling off the bottom wheel is to have the top one further in than it should be. I’ve attached two photos, the one of the top wheel has the blade a few mm in from the edge, and the one of the bottom wheel has the blade overhanging the wheel. Any help gratefully received!

Attachments

• IMG_2483.jpeg
    IMG_2483.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2482.jpeg
    IMG_2482.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
I think you need to acquaint yourself with the tracking adjustment.I have no idea where Kity might have it but you need to get close to the required tension and slowly (by hand) rotate the wheels.While doing so,adjust the tracking until the blade sits steadily in the region where it is supposed to be.At worst,the blade will jump off and you need to backtrack a bit and refine the tracking.Repeat until the problem goes away.You may need to start from scratch with the next blade.

there are a few you tube vid's showing rebuilds to Kity equipment.....
often in French but u just need photo's.....

also take some photo's of ur machine with the guard off.....both wheels etc.....
we'll help you find out how to adjust everything....