How far gone is too far gone for old wood lathes?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCMckenna

Reaction score
Alright ladies/gents, hear me out:

I've been trying to replace my mini lathe for a little while now, I've long outgrown its very limited turning capacities (can't turn a chair leg, OR a bowl wider than 7ish inches lol). I've chased second hand models here and there, but the more I look, the more intoxicated I am with those old vintage cast iron headstock/tailstocks you see on old belt driven models. I've missed a good deal once or twice too, through the various second hand sites. I'm also a welder, and I'm basically looking for an excuse to fabricate my own bed ways.

So what I'm really looking for, are just the toolrest, head and tailstock of an old lathe that I can fix up. One with morse taper fittings, as well as the threaded drive for faceplates/chucks.

And thus, we arrive at this horrorshow (pictured). Its been sat in the rain for eons, probably pushing 30+ years. Its exactly what I have been looking for in regards to large cast iron hardware that would fulfill my bowl swing needs. But good god, imagine trying to free up that quill from the tailstock. I'm in talks with the owner, thinking of going to pick it up next week. I meant to grab it a week ago, but a family emergency happened and I had to call it off.

So I could soak it in rust remover/treacle, and see how things go. I can also see that the toolrest fastening screw AND the quill fastening screw are both snapped off. And lets not forget how buggered those bronze bushings could be. But given that I want a project lathe, how much of a stupid idea do you all think this is? Thank you all for your time.

Also I'm sorry if i posted this in the wrong board, ect.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-03-03 111429.png
    Screenshot 2024-03-03 111429.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 0