Hand Tool Wall Cabinet

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dynamite

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I’m planning to build a hand tool wall cabinet one day. I have looked at many of these online and on YouTube. However, very few give much advice on the wood used and as a relative beginner, I would welcome any ideas.

I’m going to have to purchase the wood and I’m looking at something that would look nice and good quality but not break the bank (don’t want much do I ! ). I have attached an image of what I’m fancying.

Kind Regards…. Rob

Attachments

• IMG_1425.jpeg
    IMG_1425.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 0
I am sure that many woods would be suitable it just depends on the look you are after. I have also seen the whole thing done in plywood. Sketch up a plan to see how much wood you need then compare prices. One cost saver would be say ply or pine then some nice hardwood trim.
Regards
John

I used factory made beech panels as I didn't know or could do better at that time.
Beach panel 18 mm thick makes it pretty strong to hold what will be like 100 kg of tools.
Also I have had some idea that is actually also used in kitchen cabinets sometimes - a shelve that slides out and down of cabinet, very useful for upper hard to reach part of cabinet:
PXL_20220607_074118296.jpg

Plan to have plough and combination planes there and spokeshaves of course.

Whatever wood you choose it will consume more than you first thought . I would get a set of plans and add up the sq footage. Personally I like Baltic Ply for these projects and of course a sheet is 32 sq feet. They are an efficient use of space and I'm planning to build one with double doors on each side. Don't forget the solid brass hinges. :rolleyes: