Compressor advice for a total noob

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scooby

Established Member
Reaction score
I’ve only used battery and gas nailers on site but I want to get a small compressor and a 18g Brad nailer ( maybe a 23g in the future) for My home workshop.

ive never owned a compressor before so Id appreciate as much advice as possible please.

I’ve done a bit of searching here and got useful information from Peter Millard on YouTube. I’m planning on getting a 9 litre Hyundai compressor and a nailer like this Professional Air Brad Nailer F50 i won’t be spraying so 9 litre should be fine.
From searches, I guess I’d be be best off with euro couplers but I’m unsure which hose diameter I need, etc,

any and all advice will be appreciated

I have a little oilless comp bought from Aldi 20 years ago;;;;;
still fires my nailer ok.......also have one of lidil's brad nailers...good enough for my work.....
and at that price cheap enough to bin it if it goes wrong......
My Senco was nothing but trouble...£200 down the drain....
I call my comp a little screamer......sooooo noisy.......
If ur not building houses get a super quiet comp........ur ears will thank u......

If you're just firing a small / brad nailer it doesn't take much air. Portability and ease of use are most important. I think you need about 100psi which is why I bought a little 2nd hand jun-air lab compressor, the airbrush compressors would make enough airflow but keep the tank between 40 and 60psi which isn't enough.
Look for ultra flex braided hose, 6mm / quarter inch ID.
There's no need for euro connectors. The airflow isn't high enough to need them.

I am also new to air compressors, and after advice on this forum went for the same hyundai as you are looking at, but 24L. It is super quiet and perfect for my needs. I also bought the silverline 18g nailer.