Buying my first plane.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimmy69

Established Member
Reaction score
Morning all.
I need advice on the best all round plane to get for general furniture and box making duties. My only experience of planes is a Black and Decker electric, an Inca jointer which is not running yet and a thing from Wickes that acts more like a plough. I'm tempted by lots of shiny refurbs on fleabay but am worried that they might be show ponies. What sort of price should i be looking to pay for an un-restored 5 1/2? Or should I go to a dealer instead?

Hello Jimmy, I’m no expert, but I would have thought forty or fifty pounds would get you a half decent 5 1/2. You can be absolutely certain that the iron will need sharpening, and if you have never done it before, you will be on a fairly steep learning curve. You will find plenty of opinions on this subject on this forum.
Happy planing!

I use a number four all the time for furniture making, I think a 5 1/2 will be too big. Record with the Bailey casting either secondhand or new, then a little bit of work fettling up the sole – it doesn’t take long. Ian

I think you'd possibly be better off going for a #4 or a #5 to start with. The 1/2 sizes (i.e. #4-1/2 and #5-1/2) are good for bench joinery and larger stuff, but may be a bit tiring and awkward for a beginner. I think that they are also a tad large for smaller pieces.