Best practice for installing new doors into old frames

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fleyh

Established Member
Reaction score
What is the recommended best practice for installing new doors into old frames when the frames are not plumb or straight, yet not significantly distorted to warrant the process of repositioning or correcting the frame, followed by plasterboard repair and painting?

Is the approach to plane the frame for straightness (eliminating bowing and waviness) while maintaining a non-plumb condition, and then scribing the door to this irregular but straight enough frame?

- If this is the case, how are the door stoppers managed during the frame planing? Should they be removed beforehand?
- How do professionals here address the challenge of planing the frame near corners (top, bottom) where the plane blade's reach is limited?

I’m not a professional but I would start with how the existing doors fit into their respective frames , treat all as individuals as what may affect 1 frame will probably be different to the rest . A few simple checks will confirm if the frame is square ( measure diagonally) if the frame is twisted you may not see this until the door is within the frame , a level /straight edge down the sides ( where the door sits when closed ) will tell you if the sides are plumb and if not how much your looking at , I’ve used a small block plane to take some of the bow out of a frame . The next job for me is to trim the door to fit the frame and again see how it fits within the frame . It’s all about how it looks and sometimes you will never get it perfect no matter what you try .I aim for the door to be evenly spaced within the frame and for the door to be in contact with the jams/ stops . If the jams are pinned to the frame rather than moulded then these can of course be removed to allow for any twist. The hinge points are oft