Best European source for quality resaw blades?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mattia

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been lurking for a while, browsing various topics, but I figured I'd break the silence. Little bit about me: I'm an amateur guitar maker living in Amsterdam, been working out of my tiny student room until now, but a small shop is on the horizon, and a nice second-hand bandsaw (old Cattini in pristine condition, 400mm wheels) has been purchased.

I'm now looking around for a good source, preferably European, of quality resaw blades. As in, narrow kerf, good performance, good price.

Anyone got tips?

Hi Mattia, welcome to the forum.

Kerf isn't really so much of an issue with bandsaw blades as steel bandsaw blades are all much thinner than circular saw blades. I think you'd be as well to find a local supplier of blades, if you can, as almost all blades are made the same way - a length is cut from a long coil of pre-cut and sharpened band saw material, bevel ground, welded or brazed then the weld is ground flat and rehardened. The major differences in quality are down to poor quality blade material and (more so) poor quality of welding and grinding. When the saw is running a good weld will not be overly noisy when going through the guides - a bad one will be really noisy. When I lived in NL years back I found a local saw doctor who bought his blade stock from Eberle in Germany, if that's any help.

For one of the best off the shelf resaw blades around you can't beat the American WoodSlicer blade, however it doesn't have an overly long life and they are difficult to sharpened (in fact most narrow bandsaw blades are difficult or impossible to resharpen).

What materials are you thinking about sawing and in what sizes?

Regards

Scrit

Thanks for the welcome, Scrit.