Bench dogs - single or double row ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndrewC

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a "dog virgin" :(

Seriously, I've never used a bench with dogs before. Looking around, most benches seem to have a single line of holes for mounting dogs. It seems more sensible to me to have them in pairs but then I always over engineer things. I pity anyone who ever tries to take down any cupboard units I've fitted over the years :)

So one row or two ?

Round or square ?

If round, is 19mm dowel 95% as effective as a Wonder Dog ?

I'll be fitting them through about 50mm of beech.

I find a couple of this type from Axminster to be my most used.

Mostly only one is needed, but when planing a "sheet" or larger flat piece of wood I use two in the arrangement shown in my quick sketch... the (crude) arrow shows the direction of planing

benchdogs01.jpg

The little spring will grip even when working on very thin panels and it is pushed right down. A little tap from underneath will pop them out easily. Hint: don't site one in the workbench top over the drawer position. (Says the voice of experience).

I think that the only time that I have used more is when clamping wide stock in a vice, one or two dogs on the vice top and two in the bench.

Rod

Andrew
Single row, square wooden dogs - works great for me (even for routing!) and for wider stock a stop can be clamped across the bench. Square wooden dogs don't twist - and you really don't want to strike a metal dog with a fine edge tool :wink:
Hope this helps
Philly :D