Bandsaw Question

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jock

Reaction score
Hi Guys
I have bought a second hand Dewalt 876 Bandsaw, when i used it the rubber rings which the blade
runs around on the wheels , started to melt ...sadly they are useless now as the blade stuck to them
as they melted so badly . Can anyone tell me why the rubber rings would melt ?

Is it to do with tension of the blade ?

Im new to these machines so please bear with me . i know its probably needing set up correctly
so im learning as i go .

Thanks for any help or advice you can give .

They would only melt through friction and implies the tension was too much and the blade was binding on the guides or too slack and the tyres were revolving against a stationary blade? Also the guides might have been too tight?
Either way the blade would not be moving properly?
I had an 876 and got rid of it - I could never get it to work properly despite many attempts.

Rod

Thanks Rod ...
I think the blade was probably too tight , it was pretty tight when i tried to take it off..it was metled to the rubber ring ...

sadly im not sure what im doing with these machines ,so ive a lot to learn , . Ill buy new rings soon
and try and adjust the blade, i wont hold my breath tho :) i think ill end up burning those rings too.

thanks for your reply.

Steve Maskery of this Parish sells an excellent DVD covering Bandsaw set- up etc.
Give him a pm?

Rod

Harbo":1fzc184r said:
Steve Maskery of this Parish sells an excellent DVD covering Bandsaw set- up etc.
Give him a pm?

Rod

Yup! The definitive work - all you need to know about bandsaws.

I'm afraid that the damage done is going to be a bit of a pain to fix.

New wheels are outrageously expensive and not really viable from your description of what you want to do with this.