Bandsaw accident or near miss

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RickG

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm very new to all of this. I did some woodwork at school about 40 years ago, and very little since other than DIY around the house.

So bandsaws are very new to me. An uncle recently got me into woodturning and as part of the setup I bought a used band saw. It's a DeWalt BS1310. Bought a couple of blades from Tuffsaws; following some advice here, fitted one and set about cutting some wood. The first cuts went pretty well and I was pretty happy with things.

At the weekend I was wanting to cut a log in 2 for turning and fired up the saw. The log is about 2.5-3" in diameter. So I cranked up the top guide and slid the log up to the blade. The blade grabbed the wood, turned it and one of my fingers got clamped between the log and the table.

With my free hand I hit "Stop" and extracted my finger. It was a bit blooded with skin missing, but I'd missed the blade..... phew!

OK, step back... What did I do wrong?
Cleaning up, I can see the log got trapped the blade is twisted and bent by the twisting of the log.

The good folks at Tuffsaws recommended 2 blades. 1 for template cutting and 1 for logs/blanks.
The blade I had fitted was the 3/8" 6-tpi blade - the wrong one.

Can you please tell me, is the grabbing of the blade down to having used the wrong blade?
Is it probable that I didn't have enough tension on the blade, maybe?
Is there anything else I should be looking at before resuming cutting wood?

PS, the finger looks a bit of a mess, but it's doing well and it's all going to heal OK.

Offering a round object to the bandsaw without suitable chocking is the reason for your accident, there is nothing to stop the log rotating towards the unsupported side.