What bandsaw do I need?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dvddvd

Established Member
Reaction score
I've never used or thought I'd need a bandsaw before. I was making some guitar necks on my CNC machine and needed to cut some 5mm x 60mm strips of hardwood.
I struggled on my small tablesaw so someone suggested a bandsaw would be ideal

.I managed to find and buy a Record Power BS300 from market place and loved it...its quiet, don't feel you are going to lose a finger but always thought something was missing..so I've decided to " buy something better"

So what's better? I don't want to buy something that will just be the same but newer.

I have got my eye on a Laguna 14BX.
How much better would it be?

On the Record BS300 I feel power is missing a bit and sometimes it starts to drift. Even though the blade is tensioned correctly there seems to be a bit of play and the guides don't hold the blade tightly Square.

I'd love to be able to cut veneers but when I try on the Record, sometimes it cuts beautifully and sometimes not.

I have a brand new tuffsaw blade fitted.

So will it be light and day difference between a Record Power BS300 (£699) and a Laguna 14bx (£1800)?

thanks

p.s Anybody selling one?

yes the difference will be huge, but you will still have to set up the thing, setting it up properly is important, snodgrass has some good videos on it.

Thanks, I have spent hours setting up and tweeking the Record. I'll look into the Laguna more...is there any other I should look at? Would prefer second hand but not seen a Laguna 14bx for sale used.

I think that you would probably find that the problems you are experiencing could be addressed with some more work to tune up your existing bandsaw.